covenants and affection.

Dallas Willard alludes to the truth that character is not necessarily grown in adversity, rather it is revealed. The opposite could be accurately said of affection, however. Either side of the coin you look at, conflict (or adversity in this case) might produce negative feelings toward a person in the heat of it all, only to reveal deep affection and appreciation after the storm calms. Conversely, affection might be grown directly in the midst of conflict, especially if one or both parties deal with the issue at hand in an appealing manner. Either way, affections are grown and revealed in times of intense heat, so to speak. There have been plenty of times when my emotions have not matched up with rationale, or because of a conflict, I have not felt the way my mind suggests toward a person or situation. We can vacillate between ups and downs faster than light, yet grow frustrated in the confusion, forgetting that it is in our nature to experience undulation (Insert gratefulness that we serve a God who is steadfast and unchanging in his affection toward us. In fact, his grace is predisposed to meet us, to extend to where we are, because of who He is).

So what resolve can we find in the inbetween? What rationale answers our problem of unmet expectations in mirrored emotions stemming from circumstances?

 Scripture has plenty to say. One truth evident through the Lord’s relationship with his people however is this…

 

Covenant often precedes affection.

 

We serve a God, as we have already discussed, that remains faithful in any circumstance. His relationship with his people does not change based on performance, feeling or reciprocation. We, as his people, however, have historically been blind to see the full picture of his plan, his love, even his workings in our lives. And for this reason, we often require experience to bolster the truth to which we have already been predisposed. For instance, my Father tells me he loves me, but I often don’t really believe that until I experience an act of love, or enter into an emotional experience of his thoughts toward me. My brother might tell me he is proud of the way I deal with difficult children, but I don’t really believe him until he praises me in front of others for that same fact.

This taught me, today, to praise God for loving his people (ME) with a covenant love that changes not based on performance. In the same vein, I learned to hear and obey, regardless of understanding or feeling. Authority, respect and identity dictate my followership. Hopefully, my obedience will stem from a love of my authority. But even there, I appeal to my Father, my authority, to move my heart to feel, to obey, to mold to his own.

 

Covenant often precedes affection. Obedience often precedes understanding.  And my own failure often precedes redemption. Well then, BRING IT ON.

One thought on “covenants and affection.

  1. wordpressfollowermom says:

    Words this Martha Mom needed to read this morning. “In the morning, Lord, you will hear my cry, In the morning I will lay my requests before you… wait patiently.”

Leave a comment